Is it time for your vehicle’s smog check? How do you know when or if you should have one? Here’s what you need to know about a smog test in Chula Vista or any part of California.
Every vehicle registered in California must pass a smog test every two years. New residents must get their vehicle inspected in order to register it. This includes those who’ve moved to California from other states with smog testing laws. If you’ve just moved to the state, don’t put this off. The law requires that you complete the smog test within your first 20 days of residency in California.
Although these rules apply to the vast majority of drivers, there are some exceptions. Check with your local department of motor vehicles office if you have a gas-powered vehicle from 1975 or earlier or a diesel-powered vehicle from 1997 or earlier. If you drive an electric car, a natural-gas powered car, or a motorcycle, you are exempt.
And there’s one other important exemption. Cars that are six years old or less don’t have to go for the biennial inspection. A $20 smog abatement fee will be charged to you instead until your car has been registered for six years.
One final tip: Before you head out for your smog test, double check your vehicle registration renewal notice. It may require that you take your car to a STAR Certified Smog Check Station. B & J Auto Repair Smog & Sales is a STAR smog station. We’re approved by the State of California to perform smog checks and make any needed repairs.
Need a coupon for a smog check? We’ve got you covered! We’re home of the most cheapest smog check in Chula Vista. With our coupon, smog tests for cars are just $29.75 and just $39.75 for trucks, vans, and SUVs. No appointment required—just stop in for fast service.